2024 IEEE CSR Workshop on Information and Operational Technology Security (IOSEC)

September 2-4 – Hilton London Tower Bridge (Hybrid Event)

The recent advancements in Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) have given the opportunity to private and public entities, including Critical Infrastructures and other Operators of Essential Services (OES), to offer new and innovative services while lowering their operational costs. These advancements however, are often hastily adopted without proper evaluation of their impact on security (i.e., expanding and complicating their attack surface), thus leaving current Information Technology (IT) and Operation Technology (OT) systems vulnerable to various kinds of cyber-attacks. Motivated by this landscape, the CSR IOSEC Workshop aims to bring together viewpoints from diverse areas to explore the commonalities of security problems and solutions for advancing the collective science and practice of IT and OT security.

Topics of Interest

Prospective authors are encouraged to submit previously unpublished contributions from a broad range of topics, which include but are not limited to the following:

› Security architectures and frameworks for enterprises, SMEs, public administration, or critical infrastructures
› Threat modelling, detection, analysis, classification and profiling
› Artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) and generative AI in cybersecurity
› Vulnerability risk assessment and management
› Intrusion detection and prevention

› Secure and resilient software development
› Privacy enabling technologies
› Cybersecurity certification and standardization
› Cyber threat intelligence and collaborative defense
› Advancements in tools, processes, and approaches for security operations centers (SOC)

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: June 3 June 30, 2024 AoE
Authors’ notification: July 3 July 14, 2024 AoE
Camera-ready submission: July 14 July 20, 2024 AoE
Early registration deadline: July 20, 2024 AoE
Workshop date: September 2-4, 2024

Submission Guidelines

The workshop’s proceedings will be published by IEEE and will be included in IEEE Xplore. The guidelines for authors, manuscript preparation guidelines, and policies of the IEEE CSR conference are applicable to IOSEC 2024 workshop. Please visit the authors’ instructions page for more details. When submitting your manuscript via the conference management system, please make sure that the workshop’s track 2T5 IOSEC is selected in the Topic Areas drop down list.

Workshop Committees

Workshop chairs

Kostas Lampropoulos, University of Patras (GR)
Vasileios Mavroeidis, University of Oslo (NO)

Workshop Organising Committee

Fady Copty, Microsoft (IL)
Manos Athanatos, Technical University of Crete (GR)
Mateusz Zych, University of Oslo (NO)
Eva Rodriguez Luna, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (ES)
Jasmin Cosic, DEKRA (DE)
Panagiotis Ilia, Cyprus University of Technology (CY)

Publicity chair

Diana Guardado, F6S Network Ireland (IE)
Οvidiu Mihaila, Bitdefender (RO)

Contact us


Program committee

Aggeliki Aktypi, University of Oxford (UK)
Serge Autexier, DFKI – German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DE)
Luis Miguel Campos, PDFC (PT)
Christos Chrysoulas, Edinburgh Napier University (UK)
Hervé Debar, Télécom SudParis, Institut Mines-Télécom (FR)
Rodrigo Diaz, Eviden (ES)
Kostas Drakonakis, Techincal University of Crete (GR)
Charles Frick, Johns Hopkins University APL (US)
Kostas Fysarakis, Sphynx Technology Solutions AG (CH)
Nenad Gligorić, Zentrix Lab (RS)
Jassim Happa, Royal Hollow University London (UK)
Sotiris Ioannidis, Technical University of Crete (GR)
Lucian Itu, Siemens SRL (RO)
Stylianos Karagiannis, Ionian University (GR)
Odysseas Koufopavlou, University of Patras (GR)
Alexios Lekidis, University of Thessaly (GR)
Eva Marin, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (ES)
Xavi Masip, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (ES)
Ciprian Oprisa, Bitdefender/Technical University of Cluj-Napoca (RO)
Vassilis Prevelakis, Technical University, Braunschweig (DE)
George Spanoudakis, City University of London (UK)