2024 IEEE CSR Workshop on Autonomic Computing for Secure Industrial Control Systems and Industrial-IoT(ACSICS)

September 2-4 – Hilton London Tower Bridge (Hybrid Event)

Industrial control systems (ICS) networks stand out as prime targets for global attackers due to their critical role as the essential part of any nation’s infrastructure. The autonomy and proactive nature of autonomic systems make them inherently preventive, acting as a barrier against potential threats. The workshop on “Autonomic Computing for Secure Industrial Control Systems and Industrial-IoT” invites contributions in the realm of enhancing security and resilience in industrial control systems and supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) systems through the lens of autonomic computing principles.


We welcome papers exploring innovative approaches inspired by autonomic computing for bolstering the security and resiliency of ICS/SCADA environments. Topics of interest include the application of artificial intelligence techniques and machine learning methods to fortify ICS/SCADA defenses against emerging threats, as well as the development of autonomous, self-managing security systems tailored to the unique challenges of industrial environments. We also encourage submissions that delve into the utilization of self-* properties and self-CHOP methodologies to ensure the security and resilience of interconnected systems, spanning from traditional ICS and SCADA to operational technology (OT) and industrial internet of things (IIoT) ecosystems. Additionally, we seek contributions addressing autonomic security management approaches specifically designed for ICS/SCADA infrastructures.

Participants are encouraged to submit their work on novel approaches to autonomic security management tailored specifically for the unique challenges posed by ICS/SCADA infrastructures. Through this workshop, we aim to foster discussions and exchange of ideas among researchers and practitioners aiming to advance the state-of-the-art in securing critical industrial systems.

Topics of Interest

Prospective authors are encouraged to submit previously unpublished contributions from a broad range of topics, which include but are not limited to the following:

› Autonomic computing (AC) inspired methods for ICS/SCADA security and resiliency
› Artificial intelligence techniques for improving ICS/SCADA security and resiliency
› Autonomous, self-managing security systems for ICS/SCADA

› Machine Learning methods for detection and prevention of ICS/SCADA security threats
› Application of self-CHOP and self-properties for secure and resilient ICS/SCADA/OT/IoT/IIoT systems
› Autonomic security management for ICS/SCADA

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: June 3 June 30, 2024 AoE
Authors’ notification: July 3 July 14, 2024 AoE
Camera-ready submission: July 14 July 20, 2024 AoE
Early registration deadline: July 20, 2024 AoE
Workshop date: September 2-4, 2024

Submission Guidelines

The workshop’s proceedings will be published by IEEE and will be included in IEEE Xplore. The guidelines for authors, manuscript preparation guidelines, and policies of the IEEE CSR conference are applicable to ACSICS 2024 workshop. Please visit the authors’ instructions page for more details. When submitting your manuscript via the conference management system, please make sure that the workshop’s track 2T1 ACSICS is selected in the Topic Areas drop down list.

Workshop Committees

Workshop chairs

Christopher Rouff, Johns Hopkins University (US)
Lanier Watkins, Johns Hopkins University (US)
Joe Maurio, Johns Hopkins University (US)
Ali Tekeoglu, Leidos Corporation/Johns Hopkins University (US)

Publicity chair

Roy Sterritt, Ulster University (UK)
Suhee Sanjana Mehjabin, University of Maryland Baltimore County (US)

Contact us


Technical Program Committee

Korkut Bekiroglu, Medtronics (US)
James Cervini, Idaho National Laboratories (US)
Daniel Davenport, Johns Hopkins University (US)
Mohammad Ebrahimabadi, University of Maryland Baltimore County (US)
Cameron Hickert, Johns Hopkins University & MIT (US)
Ian Hogan, Leidos Innovations Center (US)
Haruna Isah, Sheridan College (CA)
Naghmeh Karimi, University of Maryland Baltimore County (US)
Suhee Sanjana Mehjabin, University of Maryland Baltimore County (US)
Daniel Muller, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (US)
Pratik Satam, University of Arizona (US)
Tamim Sookoor, Johns Hopkins University (US)
Roy Sterritt, Ulster University (UK)
Mohamed Younis, University of Maryland Baltimore County (US)
Sebastian Zanlongo, Johns Hopkins University (US)
Victor Zhu, Peraton Laboratories (US)