2023 IEEE CSR Workshop on Electrical Power and Energy Systems Security, Privacy and Resilience (EPES-SPR)

July 31 / 2 August, 2023 – Hybrid Event

The smart technologies digitize the conventional model of the Electrical Power and Energy Systems (EPES) into a new architectural paradigm, known as the Smart Grid (SG), thus introducing multiple services, such as two-way communication, pervasive control and self-healing. Based on the current situation of the COVID-19 pandemic and future pandemics, this evolution and in general the complete digitization of the cyber-physical infrastructures become necessary than ever. However, despite the benefits, this progression leads to challenging cybersecurity issues due to the vulnerabilities of the new technologies and the necessary presence of the legacy systems, such as Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) / Industrial Control Systems (ICS) that rely on insecure communication protocols. Moreover, the automatic and autonomous nature of the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) entities raises additional cybersecurity and privacy concerns. Current Advanced Persistent Threats (APTs) have demonstrated the aforementioned cybersecurity issues such as TRITON, DragonFly, BlackEnergy3 and Crashoverride.

On the other side, anticipating the critical issues of EPES/SG, both academia and industry have developed appropriate countermeasures, considering the advances in the Artificial Intelligence (AI) and the networking domains. An indicative example is the IEC 62351 standard composed of 14 parts that define a set of security controls and guidelines for EPES. Moreover, AI and especially Machine Learning (ML) and Deep Learning (DL) allow the implementation of detection mechanisms capable of discriminating malicious behaviors as well as zero-day vulnerabilities. Emerging solutions in this sector include Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) systems and Intrusion Detection and Prevention Systems (IDPS). Other emblematic technologies that can mitigate or even prevent cyberattacks are honeypots, Software-Defined Networking (SDN), Network Function Virtualization (NFV) and intentional islanding.

Topics of Interest

Prospective authors are encouraged to submit previously unpublished contributions from a broad range of topics, which include but are not limited to the following:

› Intrusion/anomaly detection and mitigation in EPES/SG
› SDN/NFV-based architectures for resilient EPES/SG
› EPES/SG honeypots and honeynets
› SIEM systems in EPES/SG
› Self-healing in EPES/SG

› Federated learning solutions for anomaly and cyberattack detection in EPES/SG
› Security management and risk assessment in EPES/SG
› Threat modelling and vulnerability analysis in EPES
› Security management and risk assessment in EPES/SG
› Emerging privacy-preserving mechanisms and techniques in EPES/SG

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: March 15 April 20, 2023 AoE
Authors’ notification: April 1 April 25, 2023 AoE
Camera-ready submission: April 15 May 3, 2023 AoE
Early registration deadline: May 5, 2023 AoE
Workshop date: July 31, 2023

Submission Guidelines

The workshop’s proceedings will be published by IEEE and will be included in IEEE Xplore. The guidelines for authors, manuscript preparation guidelines, and policies of the IEEE CSR conference are applicable to EPES-SPR 2023 workshop. Please visit the authors’ instructions page for more details. When submitting your manuscript via the conference management system, please make sure that the workshop’s track 2T6 EPES-SPR is selected in the Topic Areas drop down list.

Workshop Committees

Workshop chair

Panagiotis Sarigiannidis, University of Western Macedonia (GR)

Organizing committee

George Karagiannidis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)
Dimosthenis Ioannidis, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (GR)
Thomas Lagkas, International Hellenic University (GR)
Valeri Mladenov, Technical University of Sofia (BG)
Erkuden Rios, Tecnalia (ES)
Igor Kotsiuba, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (UA)

Publicity chair

Panagiotis Radoglou-Grammatikis, University of Western Macedonia (GR)

Contact us


Program committee

Panagiotis Diamantoulakis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)
Rodrigo Diaz, ATOS (ES)
Jose Luis Dominguez-Garcia, Institut de Recerca en Energia de Catalunya (ES)
Vasileios Gkioulos, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NO)
Pablo Gomez-Calvente Moreno, Enel Iberia s.r.l (ES)
Dimitrios Klonidis, Ubitech (GR)
Dave Raggett, World Wide Web Consortium (UK)
Fransisco Ramos, Schneider Electric (ES)
Theodoros Rokkas, inCITES s.r.l. (LU)
Alicia Arce Rubio, Ayesa (ES)
Antonios Sarigiannidis, Sidroco Holdings (CY)
Anna Triantafyllou, University of Western Macedonia (GR)